RSS Feed

Traumatized Bunny

Posted on

I got brave.
I decided to clip Bean’s nails myself. A drive to the vets is 40$ in gas + about an hour drive & 10$ for the clipping. He didn’t need anything else & I bought the clippers forever ago.

Started ok. Went into the bedroom and sat next to him. Petted him and talked in soft tones at him. Placed him on his black blankie in case I needed to wrap him up. When I splayed is left front paw it all went to hell.

He lets the vet do it boom boom boom.

Me, he freaked out on. Making all sorts of squeeks and huffy noises. Jumping out of my lap/arms. Running away. NEVER tried to bite,  bless him.

First toe clipped and he spazed. Proof he needed a clipping was the rivers of blood running down my arm. Ok, I am being dramatic. But he did shred me up pretty well.

The rest of the left foot took no time. He was in shock, I think.

Gave him a minute to calm down. Right foot was the same deal. One clip, freak out, two more, another freak out. Finally finished.

Took just shy of an hour.
I don’t know who was more upset when it was done. Him or me.

Took him hours to stop being mad.
Not sure if we’ll do that again.

image

Beanie after his pedicure.

Bless my little dude. He is so wonderful. And he just joined me on the couch for snuggles. That means I must go.

About beanits

A dude & a chick started a life together. One day the chick brought home a dwarf rabbit. The dude still loves her & didn't kick her out. :)

Leave a Reply

